Let Them Fall Interview

Me: Have you ever been treated differently than other musicians because you’re a female in a male dominated industry?

Rita: Well, yes.. on Social networks most of the times, never in person. Unfortunately when you get into the web you face this kind of thinking, the not very open minded one. But you know, that’s not the kind of problem that beats me down. I know myself and I like myself on what I like to do and this is the most important thing.

Me: Do you ever get objectified, if so, how do you handle it?

Rita: No fortunately never. But I usually don’t care what people think about my looks. As I said before I like myself the way I am.

Me: How did you learn to scream and how long did it take you to learn?

Rita: I learned thanks to video tutorials on youtube. Initially I’ve learned on having an hardcore sound for my voice, but as my band changed its sound to a more metal one I adapted my voice and at the same time kept the hardcore roots. It took time to take confidence with my body and understood when what I was doing was right or not. This, and also many band reharsals.

Me: Do you have any advice for other girls who want to scream but don’t know where to start?

Rita: The best advice I can give is to try to find your own sound, add your personal touch into it and practising as much as you can to become confident with your body.

Me: Do you have any funny stories you’d like to share? 

Rita: Several, but there is one in particular that I’d like to share: on our last show during our Slovakia tour there was a complete mess on front of the stage’s pavement, especially beer that gave birth to the most slippery mosh ever recorded in Eastern Europe.
It was like watching a drunken version of ice skating, but with more injuries and slovakian vibe. Good times indeed!

Me: What was your favorite music video to record?

Rita: Fenrir for sure. Mainly because I feel that song very close to me in its meaning, and because it was the first song where I made a self-improvement. I was really proud to show it and I put all myself in that video.

Me: What or Who inspired you to make music?

Rita: Personally to Candace Kucsulain of Walls of Jericho and Tatiana Shmailyuk of Jinjer. 

Me: Any advice for younger musicians? 

Rita: Never give up, also when the going gets tough, accept constructive criticism and view it as an opportunity for self-improvement. With that you learn how to grow on a personal and musical level.

It was awesome to interview another female in the music industry, she is a really talented screamer.

Leave a Reply

