Hail Sagan Interview

Hey guys Morgan of Teenage Band Freak, I got the honor of interviewing Hail Sagan. I love them a lot so I was so happy when they got back to me.

Me: What is the hardest thing about making music?
Hail Sagan: The hardest part for me is waiting for the final product. Writing music is the easy part, but having to record it, and then wait on all of the mixing and mastering, and all of the other things that go into post-production. I get so excited, and just want to hear how it all comes together. Sometimes I take risks with my vocals, or step outside of the box, and I can’t wait to see how it sounds. It takes a lot of patience. 
 
Me: What musician or band inspired you the most in life?

Hail Sagan: This is the question
that always makes my mind go blank, ha. Because there isn’t just one band. Both Nick and I share a common love for the band Type-O Negative. But there are so many others. Marilyn Manson, NIN, Tool, Slipknot, and I love old school hardcore like Agnostic Front, Madball, Minor Threat. And of course, everyone in the band loves 80s music. 

Me: If you could feature another singer?

Hail Sagan: I’d love to do a duet with Corey Taylor, ha. But what singer doesn’t want that to happen? We’d also love to do something with Glenn Danzig and Oli Sykes. 

Me: If you could tour with any bands who would would they be?

Hail Sagan: All of the bands we’ve already mentioned. We really want to help create a festival, or a tour in the United States that features most of the bands having female musicians, since female singers are still struggling to get on the festival circuit. You’ll see like one band with girls in it, maybe two, added to the lineup, but it’s kind of unbalanced. So we would like to put something together where there’s a bit more recognition given to female musicians. We’re also working on putting together a tour with RavenBlack and Vyces respectively, both of those bands are awesome. So we’re going to make that happen. 

Me: Do you have any funny tour stories?

Hail Sagan: Oh yeah, tour is crazy. Even when you don’t go looking for it, the crazy finds you, ha. We were in our hotel room in New Mexico a few months ago, and we heard some noise coming from outside, so we opened up our curtain and some guy was standing very close to it with his pants off. We saw EVERYTHING. Apparently, he was fighting with his partner and ran out of the room half naked, but ended up practically pressed up against our window. I guess you could say he went balls to the wall. 🙂

Me: Do you have any issues with pervy guys?

Hail Sagan: Yeah, it comes with the territory I guess. I don’t mind compliments, I mean, everyone loves them, so if it’s a guy just trying to be nice, I’m okay with it if it accidentally comes across as being pervy. But when they mention my boobs or something sexual, or send me inappropriate pics, it’s just gross. Most guys are very respectful though, and very cool. 

Me: How old were you when you realized you wanted to make music?

Hail Sagan: I can’t remember a specific age, but I do remember when I was five years old, I would choreograph shows in my house and make my family watch me perform them. Even guests!! Pretty much anyone I could get to sit and watch me dance and sing. My brother and I had a fake band with some neighborhood kids when I was like ten years old, ha. Plastic guitar with plastic strings, a microphone that ran into a tiny amp. But we only did cover songs, hahaha…

Me: If you could say one thing to young musicians to help them what would you say?

Hail Sagan: I’d say more than one thing. I’d say don’t do it just to get signed to a label. That will be very unfulfilling and make you a starving artist. Do it because you love it, because you can’t live without it, and music will eventually sustain you. Be independent for as long as you can, fund everything yourself, and always believe in yourself, especially when people in your life think you’re crazy for focusing on music as a career. 

Leave a Reply

