Self Doubt

I have found myself doubting whether or not I was meant to be a musician. I begin to doubt myself when I don’t understand something or I have to ask clarification on a music term and I begin to get in my own head telling myself. “Look at you, you call yourself a musician?” That idea of thinking started when my mom said I wasn’t a real musician because I couldn’t read sheet music and that I couldn’t list a set amount of musicians or just classic musicians. I began to study music theory and I get so doubtful when I don’t understand. I asked some of my music friends and they sometimes doubt themselves too, which I never would thought since they’re so amazing at what they do, all of them told me the same thing. Remind yourself why you do what you do. I remind myself that I want to change the world, make a revolution, save lives with my music. What inspires you? Why do you do what you do?

Leave a Reply

